#NonFictionalFoods | Signs and Seasons: an Astrology Cookbook

If you asked me if I believed in astrology and horoscopes, I’d tell you I was a skeptic. But, I’d also tell you that I kind of embody many of the traits of the Leo– I’m arrogant, I’m stubborn, I’m an idealist, I’m a creative, I’m passionate, and dammit, I demand praise! (Please tell me how great I am in the comments below!) I’d also tell you that I read my 2017 forecast, and it says that I should expect travel in relation to my career in 2017, WHICH COULD TOTALLY HAPPEN BECAUSE I WILL BE TAKING ON THE ACCOUNTING AT ANOTHER FRANCHISE BASED OUT OF PASADENA, CALIFORNIA EVEN THOUGH I LIVE IN MICHIGAN. (Eh, that’s a long shot, but a girl can dream, amiright?) And now, I can tell you how a Leo cooks, eats, and entertains thanks to Signs & Seasons by Amy Zerner, Monte Farber, and Chef John Okas. I definitely do not buy the best that I can afford (because I am an accountant and therefore stingy AF), but I do have a taste for luxurious and rich foods (homemade biscuits and gravy for the win!). I also crave praise, so if I cook something that is less-than-amazing, I consider it an absolute failure and I apologize profusely to my husband for assaulting his taste buds as he starts to wander into the kitchen for seconds.


Signs and Seasons: an Astrology Cookbook by Amy Zerner, Monte Farber, and Chef John Okas.

Released: May 2017
Publisher: Harper Elixer
★★★☆☆
Add to Goodreads
Buy Links

Food connects us to our families, history, culture, and to the natural world itself—to the seasons and the cycle of life. Just as our path around the sun—and through the Zodiac—dictates the seasons, the seasons dictate what will flourish, from the tender greens of early spring to late summer’s lush and impossible perfect tomatoes.

In Signs and Seasons, Farber and Zerner—along with chef John Okas—take home cooks through the four seasons and each of their astrological signs in over 95 tantalizing seasonal recipes that include starters; meat, seafood, and vegetarian mains; sides; and desserts for each sign.

Inspired by the cuisine of the Mediterranean, home of the Greco-Roman cultures that named the planets after their gods, Signs and Seasons teaches you how to: feed friend and loved ones based on their signs and and seasons, deepen your understanding of nature and the universe, and discover how astrology shapes our personalities, tastes, and appetites.

Whether exploring the “Twin nature” and “Mercurial spirit” of ramps (a spring delicacy well suited Geminis) in a recipe for Ramps al Olio or the historical association of saffron with Venus in the recipe for Roasted Corn Orecchiette, Signs and Seasons is the perfect guide for eating in a way that emphasizes both sensual nourishment and psychic satisfaction. Beautifully photographed in full color by Monte Farber and illustrated by Amy Zerner, Signs and Seasons is a one-of-a-kind source of inspiration for astrology enthusiasts and home chefs alike.


My overall impression of Signs and Seasons is… it’s just okay. I don’t take astrology seriously, so to me this cookbook seems like a novelty, although it’s absolutely fun. Especially since the authors of this cookbook included a little explanation of why a particular dish would appeal to an astrological sign for each recipe. It was very insightful and I think it would appeal to those who are passionate about astrology.

This cookbook lost stars because I struggled to find a recipe that I would appreciate, and the ones that did pique my interest, I couldn’t find the ingredients at my local grocer (but, that’s my fault because I live in a literal village). Most of the recipes aimed for Leos were especially not appealing to my tastes because they included seafood or celery salt. That being said, I did test out the Kiwi Ricotta stacks because I thought it would be an excellent way to use up leftover ricotta. And, while I am inept at food styling and couldn’t make it look beautiful, it tasted pretty. freaking. awesome.

Kiwi is kiwi, and how do you go wrong with that? (Answer: you don’t!). What really impressed me was the ricotta, honey, cinnamon, and pistachio concoction that tasted just. like. baklava. All I could think about was how badly I wanted to dip apple slices into it, so I will be snacking on this again soon.

The other recipe that I wanted to cook up for this post was broccoli rabe, sausage, and white beans with penne. It sounded like the pasta equivalent to a spicy sausage lentil soup that I adore making in winter time! I unfortunately walked out of the grocer without white beans twice this week!

This novel was provided for free from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Save

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

3 thoughts on “#NonFictionalFoods | Signs and Seasons: an Astrology Cookbook

Leave a Reply

