I Don’t Deserve These Books!

Yesterday was a particularly perfect Autumn day that had me jonesing for some spooky literature, so I escaped to the library for a little while and returned home with more books than I am capable of reading in a three-week period (as usual). I probably…definitely should not have indulged in a library visit since I’m already kind of behind on reading the books with review deadlines, but I couldn’t resist.

spooky-books-16

Library loot includes:

  • Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente (which isn’t supposed to be spooky, but I’ve been wanting to read it for nearly a year and I’ve never found it in either the library or book stores until now)
  • The Turning by Francine Prose
  • As I Descend by Robin Talley
  • And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich
  • The Watchman of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
  • Escape from Asylum by Madeleine Roux
  • Prom Dates from Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore
  • What a Ghoul Wants by Victoria Laurie

Have you read any of these books?

the-turning

I made the mistake of starting to read the Turning by Francine Prose in the evening, and once the sun finally set, I started to get almost uncomfortably scared. Not scared enough to stop reading, but scared enough that I knew I wouldn’t be going to bed anytime soon because I’d be hyper-alert to all the things that go bump in the night (even though I know those things are definitely just my cat). To make matters worse, Jon fell asleep early, so it was just me sitting alone in the living room. And even though we live in a small apartment and Jon was only 15 steps away from me, and almost all the lights were on, I still managed to scare myself into thinking that something was lurking outside the sliding glass door in the pitch black night staring in at me (because that happened in the book). Nevermind that we live on the third floor, so you know, that’s almost impossible (unless the climbed the tree…which they could have…).

What was the last scary story you read that gave you the heebie-jeebies?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Deserve These Books!

  1. Night Film by Marisa Pressl. It’s the kind of scary read that mostly atmospheric. The author does a great job of setting up the scenes that even though you don’t really see anything scary as in ghosts or monsters, she was very adept at showing you you should most definitely be scared right about now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

