Life Lately: Countdown to Autumn and Cat Snuggles

Ah summertime. There used to be a time in my life when I looked forward to the season. It used to mean staying up until three o’ clock in the morning to work on my blog (pre-book blogging days) or playing Final Fantasy VIII, sleeping in until one o’clock in the afternoon (which was about the time my mother would call me to see if I had started on my chores), binge eating quesadills and spaghetti-os, and generally avoiding summer reading requirements for AP English. But in adulthood…summertime is basically the pits. I mean, I know normal people steal away on vacations for a week or at least spend a long weekend at the lake. But, I have a hard time imagining that luxury for myself. Essentially, for four months out of the year, I’m overworked and overdressed (because apparently at age 28, I don’t own shorts anymore), and under rested.

Every year I look forward to Autumn, not just for the beautifully colored treeline, the crisp weather that begs for sweaters, and the excuse to switch to a soup diet, but also because it finally means achieving some kind of balance in my life. (Also, my cat gets cold, so he sets aside his disdain for human affection and hops up on the bed to snuggle with Jon and I, and last weekend was the first cat snuggle of the season! *SQUEE!*)

Autumn approaching also means I have more spare time to invest in my blog. I really want to do another October Spooktacular event, but since we’re already halfway through September (and I’m such a slooooooooooooooooow reader), it’s a little too late to attempt to create a month’s worth of spooky content. Maybe there is still hope for a week or two of ghoulish books though?

I also want to start a weekly/biweekly/monthly/occasional feature to show my love for the book blogger community– the Book Blogger Digest. Look, I’m not reinventing the wheel here; it’s a collection of links to articles and book reviews that you should totally be reading (after you’re finished reading my blog, of course)!

book-blogger-digest

Brittany @ the Book Addicts Guide has launched a comprehensive list of books that take place at boarding schools. She’s taking suggestions from readers, so be sure to add yours. I’ve already submitted two series!

Bekka @ Pretty Deadly Reviews is challenging readers to broaden their horizons with this Autumn Themed Book Bingo card. If you’re struggling with a book slump, check it out!

Pamela @ a Writer’s Tale writes about four things she loves about her home country, Ecuador. The timing couldn’t be more perfect since I recently read The Art of Holding On and Letting Go, which begins in Ecuador. Next time, I’d love to read a novel that takes place entirely in Ecaudor!

Shannon @ River City Reading is encouraging you to Learn to Love Your Library. It always baffles me how many book bloggers don’t use their libraries. There is no way I could feed my reading addiction without mine.

Jana @ the Artsy Reader Girl just put a picture book on my radar called the Very Fluffy Kitty, Papillion written and illustrated by A.N. Kang. I could buy it for my niece. Or I could just buy it for myself.

Cee @ the Novel Hermit reviews Sometimes We Tell the Truth by Kim Zarins, which is a retelling of Chaucer’s the Canterbury Tales. For some reason, I didn’t hate this particular piece of required reading, so I’m especially looking forward to reading Sometimes We Tell the Truth.

How have you been, dear readers? Is Autumn approaching in your neck of the woods? What are you looking forward to this year?

2 thoughts on “Life Lately: Countdown to Autumn and Cat Snuggles

  1. Sameeee. Nowadays, all I look forward to are Fridays. I would imagine adulthood is only fun and games for those who don’t worry about mortgages and bills. :/

    Anyway, we’re still getting some warm weather and since my neighbourhood is fairly new, there’s not a lot of fallen leaves to frolic in. Sigh.

    Have a great week ahead!

    Like

    1. We’re still getting warm weather too, but some of the mornings have been nice and crisp. I’ve even seen an odd red or yellow colored leaf, too! We still have a few weeks before Autumn properly rolls through, but the anticipation is still fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

