Time Travel, Cozies, and Non-Fiction: Just a Few New Releases I’m Looking Forward to in 2016

New Releases

I almost never publish posts about new releases. Simply, 99% of the time, I am a backlist reader. What can I say? I’m stingy, and I do not like shelling out cash money for hard cover books, when I can purchase paperback copies for less later in the year. But its January! A fresh start to the new year! And to celebrate, I couldn’t resist putting together a post about upcoming (or new-ish) release books that I have my eye on. Who knows, maybe I’ll even break my own rule and buy myself a hardcover.

Is Time Travel a Thing This Year?

[Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood | The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry | Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor]

Look, I know that just because I happened to easily stumble across four young adult books about time travel, it doesn’t mean that it is going to be the grand trope that embodies 2016. But, it would be cool if it were, right? Also, this reminds me that I need to read Outlander by Diana Gabaldon this year. Aaaaanyway, at the very tippy top of my wishlist is The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry. It just sounds like a story that will be both beautiful and devastating, and I am going to totally ignore all reviews for this book until I read it for myself because I don’t want anyone to accidentally spoil anything, nor do I want them to accidentally discourage me from reading this book.

Cozy-Mania!

[A Murder in an Irish Village by Carlene O’Connor | To Helvetica and Back by Paige Shelton | The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum by Kristen Weiss | A Prisoner in Malta by Phillip Depoy]

I discovered the joy that is the cozy mystery novel in 2015, and I absolutely need more in my life. And while my library has stacks upon stacks of cozies to choose from, I can never find the series starter. Lucky for me, I’ve discovered a couple of new series that have piqued my interest! And just for the record, I’m not entirely certain that A Prisoner in Malta is a cozy, but common’! Christopher Marlowe is a sleuth for Queen Elizabeth I!

The Truth Is…

[The Geography of Genius by Eric Weiner | Hotels of North America by Rick Woody | Grunt: the Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach | The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley]

I love non-fiction! I have a soft spot in my heart for NF books about science, history (especially micro-histories), travel, and social topics, but with the exception of Bill Bryson, I don’t really write about this genre on Books & Tea. I hope to change that in this new year. I’ve got my eye on these new releases, ALSO BILL BRYSON HAS A NEW BOOK THIS YEAR!!!

What new releases are you looking forward to?

6 thoughts on “Time Travel, Cozies, and Non-Fiction: Just a Few New Releases I’m Looking Forward to in 2016

  1. I’ll definitely be reading Passenger! I already pre-ordered it last year and it should ariive in the next week or so. I CANNOT with non-fiction (it just makes my brain go to sleep, which makes a lot of university reading really difficult), but I’ve been maybe sort of thinking about trying mystery more? It’s not my usual genre, but I’ve had some good experiences with it, so maybe I’m missing out! I think I usually avoid it because the characters are a huge part of why I like books and I feel with mysteries it’s more about solving X than the people? But I know there are mysteries that are about both, so I’ll hope for the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

