That One Time I Didn’t Go to the Library

September was such a wonderful month for reading. I finished five or six books, which for a distracted reader like myself, is quite an accomplishment, and it is also the reason October was so flush with reviews. Then October rolls around and all I did was finish one book– When Mythical Creatures Attack by Kathleen Founds. I found myself getting overwhelmed by all of my choices and the desire to READ ALL THE BOOKS, so I started a bunch of new novels that I have yet to finish. When my library date rolled around this weekend, I decided to renew all of my books online instead heading over to the library to return them, or worse! To bring home more distracting books. I just have this feeling that I have a stack of winners sitting next to my rocking chair…

Wanna know a secret though? But promise me you won’t be mad!

A few weeks ago I posted a bunch of really vague descriptions of books and asked all of you to vote on which book I should read next…and I haven’t exactly quite started that book yet. I suppose I should tell you what book was chosen, right? Actually, it’s books, because the poll ended in a tie.

With 21% of the votes each, it came down to Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve (described as “Something about the Order of Engineers and an archaeological dig”) and The Lake, The River, and the Other Lake by Steve Amick (described as “That book about Michigan!”). I could blame the delay in reading these two books on the tie, but really I had two opportunities pop up during October.

First, I’m participating an a book tour for The Indifferent Stars Above by Daniel James Brown. It’s an enthralling non-fiction novel about the Oregon Trail and the Donner Party, and I cannot wait to tell you more about it on November 3. Second, I have the opportunity to read the Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson (thanks Netgalley!). If you’re just tuning in to Books & Tea, you may have missed out on the fact that I’m a huge Bill Bryson fan (seriously. huge. fan.). It’s sort of a follow-up to another one of his books, Notes From a Small Island, so I having something in store to celebrate both novels before it’s January 2016 release.

I hope you were able to make a bigger dent in your October reading lest than I did. Did you discover any new favorites? Were there any books you were anticipating but never actually got around to reading?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

One thought on “That One Time I Didn’t Go to the Library

Leave a Reply

