A Very Cozy Book Club

I was recently introduced to a website called Paperless Post, which allows users to send both online and paper stationary for special events or just because. You have the option to upload your own design, or you can use one of their pre-made designs and customize anything from font face and color, text, logos (if only I had one for Books & Tea!), envelope linings, and “stamps”. I mean, just look atΒ allΒ the invitations you have to choose from! There are hundreds of templates to browse though for events like weddings, birthday parties, holidays, fundraisers, and…Book Clubs! Check out this charming Library Card invitation! Naturally, I began imagining hosting my own book club– a Very Cozy Book Club.

The Invitation

Fall is right around the corner, so I couldn’t resist this invitation with a simple orange bow. Plus, I customized the lining of the envelope with a sweet acorn print.

The Books

For our first meeting, we would start off with a classic– Murder on the Orient Express by the queen of mystery, Agatha Christie. I’ve wanted to read one of her books for a while now, but I have such a poor track record with “classics”. I think the book club would definitely keep me on track though. Runner-ups included: the Hound of the Baskervilles by Sherlock Holmes, The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allan Poe, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, and Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke. What can I say? I was starting to get hungry…

The Tea

Autumn is a perfect season for hot tea (although admittedly, I drink hot tea all year round, even when it’s 90 degrees outside). To make the occasion extra cozy, I chose a spicy masala chai, although a simple mug of breakfast tea with a splash of milk and sugar is also an Autumn staple for me. What kind of tea do you like to drink when the temperature drops and the leaves change colors?

I hope one day the Very Cozy Book Club will come to fruition, but for now it’s just a dream. In the mean time, check out the Paperless Post, and gaze upon the beautiful stationary. Then sign up! Because you’ll get 25 free coins, which is plenty to get you started as you plan and organize your next event. And, if it happens to be a book club, please invite me!

Getting cozy via the Books & Tea instagram
Getting cozy via the Books & Tea instagram

Do you participate in a book club? How did you get involved, and what kind of books do you read?

P.S. The candle featured in my photograph is maple bourbon scented. So. Much. Yes.

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

16 thoughts on “A Very Cozy Book Club

  1. What a great idea! I already want to be a part of this book club. I don’t participate in any, but I would love to be a part of one. Sadly, I know very few bookish people IRL. Maybe I should try it out and organize something. Who knows what could turn out? I could even craft some of these beautiful invitations that no one could resist.

    Like

    1. If I had bookish friends IRL, I wouldn’t hesitate to start a book club! But, sadly that is not the case. I know that there are a few book clubs in my area, and I’ve tried doing research on them, but they almost appear to be invite only 😦 Plus, they would all be strangers to me, which makes me feel anxious.

      Truly though, all of the craftiness that would be inspired by the book club would be awesome. Think of all of the snacks and drinks and decorations…!

      Like

    1. It is…for now. I’ve been toying around with the idea of starting a book club or getting involved with one, and now that busy season is over at work, I would like to start some planning and organizing. But I don’t even know where to start because that last time I participated in a book club was way back in elementary school!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Is it possible to host a book club on-line? Would you have to require postings by participants to stimulate conversation? If so, what would the requirements be?

    Like

    1. Why? DO YOU WANT TO BE IN MY BOOK CLUB MOM?!

      It is possible to host an online book club. We would have to have a space where we could have discussion about the book, but that’s the part that I haven’t quite figured out yet. I’ve considered goodreads, but it’s already pretty saturated with book clubs. If I could host the book club from my blog, I would start one in a heart beat. Now that work is slowing down, I might look in to this a little more seriously…

      Like

  3. I’m in an online bookclub on Goodreads! I don’t do a LOT on there…because I am shy and someone horrific at starting conversations, but I like to read everyone else’s discussions. XD Mmm, that tea sounds DELICIOUS.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  4. This is such a fantastic idea! Your invite screams fall to me, and I can’t think of a better book to start with than a classic murder mystery. Like the commenters above, I know few bookish people IRL, but if I did, I would join a book club in a heartbeat πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. A book club would be such a wonderful idea! After reading books, the next best thing is to talk about them with a fellow bookworm. Paper post is such a great website. I’m glad I discovered it!

    Like

  6. I am jealous of your book club!! I love the attention to detail. My book club doesn’t nearly go to this much effort but I am definitely pushing for tea from now on πŸ™‚ We generally stick with books that fit the season… As we approach autumn we are looking at mysteries, thrillers/suspense, and books that generally make us want to cozy up by the fire. We recently finished a fantastic book by author Scott Wilbanks entitled “The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster” (http://www.scottbwilbanks.com/) . Annie finds a mysterious mailbox in her backyard that contains a letter addressed to her from a schoolmarm in the 1800s. Annie lives in modern day San Francisco and yet seems to have a direct connection to 19th century Kansas through the backdoor of her house! This book has mystery, time travel, romance, and truly lovable characters. It should definitely be added to your book clubs list this fall! Happy Reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

