Four More YA Books that Rock

I recently read and LOVED the Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley, which has great 90’s alternative music at its core (among other things), and that got me thinking about other great books I’ve read that centered around music. If you’re a music lover, check out these four books:

Hairstyles of the Damned by Joe Menothe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen ChboskyIf I Stay by Gayle ForemanJust Listen by Sarah Dessen

I especially recommend Hairstyles of the Damned by Joe Meno, although some parts are pretty vulgar, so it’s a read for older teens. It really embraces the whole sex, drugs, and rock and roll idea, but the books was funny, and Joe Meno’s style of writing is always unique and exciting. I think what really captured me was the music though because I never expected to read a book where the main character loved the band, the Misfits, which happened to be one of my music obsessions when I discovered the book.

Have you read any books where music played a prominent role in the story? What book was it?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

7 thoughts on “Four More YA Books that Rock

  1. I looove music so I have a special spot in my heart for music-y books. Particularly If I Stay! I ADORE THAT BOOK. I listened to an audio and it had sad cello music in the background and ahhhhhh! I LOVE THAT BOOK. I also quite like Ballad and Lament by Maggie Stiefvater! The characters play bag pipes and harp, so that’s weirdly interesting as well. XD

    Like

    1. So many people rave about Maggie Stiefvater, but I still haven’t read any of her books. I think that definitely needs to change ASAP. I’ve not heard of Lament or Ballad, but I just checked them out on good reads, and they sound awesome! Celtic faerie lore is pretty enticing.

      Like

  2. I’ve read two of these four, and actually I kind of hated them. But that’s okay – we all have different tastes and whatnot. For me, Perks of Being a Wallflower was overhyped an kind of meh; and If I Stay was too short for me to get emotionally invested with the characters. But it’s great that you liked them!
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

    Like

    1. I think timing was everything for Perks of Being a Wallflower. I must have picked it up 10 years ago? I was 16 or 17, and the only book hype I was aware of was the hype surrounding Harry Potter. Everything else was just sort of a casual recommendation pre-book blogging days, so it didn’t have too far to fall if it didn’t meet expectations.

      Like

  3. Here I was thinking I’ve never read anything by Sarah Dessen (because she keeps coming up), but I *THINK* I’ve read Just Listen when I was a lot younger and really liked it because of the music. If it’s the book I’m thinking of at least. I generally really love books centered around music!

    Like

Leave a Reply

