It’s My (Birthday) Party, and I’ll Blog if I Want to

HappyBirthdayToday is my birthday, and I am now twenty-seven. I do not have any actual plans other than hopefully I get to go to Sugarberry, a frozen yogurt joint that has exciting flavored froyo (like taro) and toppings galore (my favorite being the mochi and fruity flavored bobas), with Jon tonight. Until then, I’m tidying up the apartment in between quests in Dragon Age II. I’ve also been feeling pretty introspective about the past 365 days. A lot has happened.

Twenty-six was a heck of a year. I did a lot of growing and a lot of adulting, like buying my first car, moving in with Jon, actually having to budget my money and pay my own bills, and re-establishing my savings account that I completely demolished right after graduating college. Not that my twenty-sixth year can only be measured in the amount of things I can cross off my “Finally Becoming an Adult” list. I was also a bridesmaid in a wedding, and I gave a speech in front of people without totally losing my cool (okay, I lost my cool. I forgot to actually raise my glass and toast the happy couple at the end of the speech.). I celebrated my 1 year anniversary with Jon. I actually had enough money in my piggy bank that I could splurge and buy Jon (and me) an Xbox One. I spent the year enjoying the company of friends and acquaintances over beer and BBQ sammies at Leo’s Pub after work or the occasional weekend cookout.

Perhaps the pinnacle of it all occurred about a month ago when I was offered a job in Tulsa. More responsibilities. A significant pay increase. The adventure of moving to a new city. And…I decided not to take it. I haven’t decided if I’m crazy for passing on the opportunity or not. It truly would have helped to establish my career, and when I say significant pay increase, I’m talking a $6,000 a year leap, which is a lot for someone who is a bookkeeper with an English degree. Moving would have been the easy choice because it’s what I’m used to; my whole childhood and adolescence was filled with saying “goodbye” just as soon as I started to fit in. So deciding not to move, not to take the job– that’s probably the scariest decision I’ve made in a really long time. Possibly ever.

I should probably mention, it was my mother who offered me the job. That doesn’t diminish the magnitude of the opportunity at all, but it was a major factor in my deciding to stay. Gosh, where would I be without my mom? She helped me get my foot in the door at my current place of work, she put a roof over my head off and on post-college, and she helped me rebuild myself this past year. But now, I have to navigate the rocky waters of adulthood on my own. I have to establish my own identity, and I don’t think I could have done that very well had I moved to Tulsa.

Even though I lived it, I still find it hard to believe that all of that could happen in the course of one year. How did I accomplish so much in such a short amount of time? Granted I’m not winning awards or changing lives (except my own), but they are accomplishments none-the-less, and I am proud of them.

So, I’ve been 27 for a few hours now, am I’m pretty excited to see what this next year will have in store. Of course I expect to re-read the Harry Potter series, and I hope to also spend way too much time playing Fallout 4 (’bout damn time!). I also need to stop thinking about my career path and start making progress on it. Am I satisfied in my current field? Am I satisfied with the organization I work for? Is this something I can see myself doing for the next five years? If not…then do something about it. Finally…I’m going to take a vacation this year. Not my typical “vacation”, where I work 40 hours in 4 days and take a three-day weekend to recuperate. I earned 64 hours of PTO last year, and I couldn’t figure out how to use it all. What a shame. But this year, I’m going to take a real vacation. Jon and I have been day dreaming a lot about Montana, and I hope to make it a reality for us.

9 thoughts on “It’s My (Birthday) Party, and I’ll Blog if I Want to

  1. Happy Birthday, Jackie! Wow. So many things happened to you in one fell swoop. I, too, am a bookkeeper by trade, but I’d rather be working in the publishing field. Sadly, there’s not much opportunities in that industry where I live, so I’ve been doing this thing for 16 years now. Gah. I feel so old.

    Welcome to adulthood, responsibilities, and life. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you for the birthday wishes πŸ˜€

      It’s weird. I wanted to avoid everything to do with accounting, but alas, here I am. It’s definitely been more enjoyable than I thought it would be, but I don’t go home at night feeling fulfilled. I can’t tell if that’s just the way things are, or if the grass is really greener elsewhere…

      Like

    1. Thank you so much!

      I’ve been blogging for aaaages, and I can’t imagine not ever doing it. But, I wonder what technology will be like when I’m fifty. Will I even know how to use the new-fangled tech gadgets then?

      Like

  2. Happy birthday! It sounds like you had an amazing year. It’s good to look back and see how far you’ve come, I like to do that from time to time, especially when I’m feeling stuck in the moment.
    I like quiet birthday celebrations – I had my fill of parties when I was in high school and university and now I’m more of a dinner-and-drinks person.
    Here’s to your 27 being even more exciting (in a good way) than 26! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Happy belated birthday, Jackie! I hear you about moving – I keep moving around as soon as somewhere starts to feel like home. Somehow I never manage to actually move far away though. Sounds like it was a pretty eventful year for you! I always find decisions like that terrifying (I’ve been panicking about what Master’s program to apply for and where to do it for years), but it sounds like you made the right one. Moving in with someone is a huge step; I hope it all goes swimmingly. πŸ™‚ And Montana sounds amazing. To another great year!

    Like

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY. *helps self to birthday cake* Oh oh and congrats on a successful year of adulting too. I’m sure I’ll catch the adulting bug one of these days, but for now…well…I accidentally just bought one of those super addictive looking adult colouring-in books. heh. NO REGRETS ;D
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. Ah! I’ve seen some of those adult coloring books at my local bookstore, and I am always so tempted to buy one every time I’m in there. I never budget for it though, which is a shame. I think I must for my next bookstore visit though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

