Five Reasons Why Magical Cats are Awesome (and Five Reasons Why My Non-Magical Cat is Awesome)

In Sleight of Paw by Sofie Kelly, amateur sleuth, Kathleen Paulson, has two magical cats, Hercules and Owen; one can turn himself invisible, one can walk through walls and closed doors, and as you can imagine, this makes searching for clues easier. Not to mention, Hercules and Owen are such charismatic kitties, that I couldn’t help but wonder what it would be like to have magical kitties myself

Five Reasons Why Magical Cats are Awesome

1. Magical cats can walk through doors and walls (kind of like a ghost), so they could get themselves out of locked up walk-in closets if they sneaked in there while I was getting ready for work. I lost count of how many times Fargo got himself locked up in my closet only to be let out after I got home from work.
2. Magical cats could help me find important things that I’ve lost like my laundry card, my keys, or my chapstick.
2. We could solve mysteries together…if I ever picked up sleuthing as a hobby.
4. They could turn themselves invisible, so I wouldn’t have to pay pet fees at my apartment. Not sure how I would explain the litter box though…
5. I could communicate with my magical cats. Kathleen swears her cats understand her; then again, she could just be a crazy cat lady.

Five Reasons Why My Non-Magical Cat is Awesome

1. He doesn’t have expensive taste. He prefers not to eat the expensive brand of cat food, and he is capable of entertaining himself with an ocassional stray gum wrapper.
2. He is like a security system because he hates everyone but Jon and I, and he immediately starts growling and hissing when a stranger walks through the door.
3. He makes me feel good about my cooking because he wants to eat everything I make I’m eating.
4. He is the antithesis to a lap cat (and he doesn’t like to be pet), which makes the moments he curls up on my knees extra special. Granted, it’s usually in the wintertime, and he’s probably just a little chilled…
5. He sits like this in the armchair, and I find that extremely amusing:

Fargo Sitting

8 thoughts on “Five Reasons Why Magical Cats are Awesome (and Five Reasons Why My Non-Magical Cat is Awesome)

  1. Hahaha, I love this post so much! I’ve also got a post on books and cats coming up this week πŸ™‚ the first magical cat that comes to mind is that black cat from Sabrina the Teenage Witch. I don’t remember his name but he could talk! That was also pretty cool.

    Your cat sits like a sir, by the way. Hilarious.

    Like

  2. I laughed about the missing chapstick. I was going to comment about how wealthy you would be if Fargo could find your tubes of chapstick, but then I realized that I normally bought you replacements!

    Like

  3. You have a cat named Fargo? πŸ˜€ He looks beautiful and soft, a pity he doesn’t like to cuddle! I’d love to have a cat but my husband’s allergic + we have a 11-month-old so that would be another source of disaster in our apartment. 😦
    This may sound weird but what’s a laundry card? Do you put cash on it to be used instead of quarters? (We don’t really have laundries here – I know of only 1 in Ljubljana – because most people have their own washing machine and rental apartments often come furnished with one).
    I’m sure you could train a magical cat to go potty in the toilet and flush it, right? πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Fargo appreciates your compliments!

      I guess I could have clarified because I think “laundry cards” are still fairly obscure in the US too. But, yes we have to put cash on a laundry card instead of using quarters. I miss the convenience of having my own washer and dryer, especially since my apartment building, which houses 12 families, only has one washer and dryer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

