Admitting Defeat with Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium by Lauren OliverDelirium by Lauren Oliver
Released:
January 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins
Add to Goodreads
NO RATING, DNF
Synopsis: Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

My Thoughts

Lauren Oliver’s writing style is incredible. It’s beautiful. It’s poetic. I want to read it out loud so I can hear it. It leaves a hole in my chest, but in a good way. I remember thinking that when I read Before I Fall, and if you haven’t read that book, I definitely recommend it. So, when I picked up a copy of Delirium, I couldn’t wait to read it. It started out promising. I devoured the first eight chapters. And then, everything came to a screeching stop. Don’t get me wrong– Lauren Oliver’s writing style is still impeccable in this book. It was just…boring.

The last time I felt this bored reading a book was when I read the Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. That was another book that started out promising but then bored me to tears a few chapters in. I kept reading because so many people praised Cassandra Claire, and I wanted to find out why for myself. Yes, there was a chapter or two at the end that piqued my interest, but upon finishing the novel I just resented the whole experience. I wasn’t prepared to let that happen again.

Not to mention, I couldn’t buy in to the premise of love as the demise of a society. Or the scapegoat, at least. It made as much sense to me as the idea that different personality types lead to the demise of a society. Just no. With the exception of the Hunger Games, I haven’t read a dystopian novel and loved it, so I’m starting to think the dystopian genre really isn’t a good niche for me after all.

I don’t often admit defeat. Especially when it comes to books that I own! I typically see not reading or not finishing books I own as a waste of money, but today I’ve decided that my time is more valuable than my money.

There is no start rating for Delirium (not to be confused with a zero-star rating). I didn’t finish it, so I don’t think I can rate it fairly.

2 thoughts on “Admitting Defeat with Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

