Wandering Through Outer Space

While I’d love to visit Cambodia or Antarctica or the whole Appalachian Trail  and see it for myself, it’s not an opportunity I’ve afforded myself. This is one of reasons why I love reading so much– when my pocketbook doesn’t allow it, I can still travel the globe with every turn of the page. This week, I launch myself into outer space with Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner’s These Broken Stars.

But first, a monumental THANK YOU to Kate @ Literary Kate. During the Book Blogger Love-A-Thon event, she actually gifted me a copy of the These Broken Stars e-book. I am incredibly blown away by her generosity! She told me it was one of her favorite books, and even though I’m only a quarter of the way through the book, I can understand why.

Images from NASA @ HubbleSite.org

I’m a sucker for star-gazing and day dreaming about living on terraformed planets, and These Broken Stars (rocket)fuels my curiosity about what lies beyond our blue planet. I want to know about earthlings in the future, I want to know why the Icarus is falling, I want to know who lives on the foreign planet, if anyone at all. The dynamics and banter between Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen is just icing on the cake.

I can already tell this is a series that I will want to continue, and that’s kind of a big deal. But even that won’t satiate my desire to read books that let me coast among supernovas and solar systems. What are some of your favorite books that take place in outer space?

6 thoughts on “Wandering Through Outer Space

  1. I am in love with space. I love how beautiful it is, and I find stars and planets and such really fascinating. For someone who’s such a space geek, I haven’t read an awful lot of space books. Although I did really like 172 Hours on the Moon!

    Like

    1. I haven’t read 172 Hours on the Moon, but when it was released a few years ago, I only heard positive things about the book. I wanted to read it, but I kept forgetting to snag myself a copy. Thank you for putting this book back on my radar!

      Like

  2. You know, I’ve seen These Broken Stars countless times, but after this post I think I may actually have to read it. I love outer space. I’ve grown up around it. My dad and my grandfather worked on the Hubble Space telescope together, so it’s been a huge part of my life, since before my life began! One of God’s greatest miracles. I love stars.

    ~Lynette @ Escaping Reality – One Book at a Time

    Like

    1. Whaaaaat?! They worked on the Hubble Space telescope together?! That’s kind of the most awesome thing ever. I can only imagine “Bring Your Child to Work Day”…

      Like

  3. I definitely understand what you mean about traveling through books! And space is so fascinating – I took an astronomy class with my mom for a couple of months, and it was really interesting. These Broken Stars is very much on my TBR, so I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I can’t recall any book set in space that I’ve read apart from the Hitchhiker’s Guide, but I must have read some! I guess I watch more space-themed movies than I read books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

