OTP: My Favorite Couples

It’s the last day of February, so I wanted to get one more post up to celebrate the month of luuuurve. Love stories can be a hard sell, especially if they contain any of the trends I mentioned in my post about things I love and loathe about romance in books. But, I’m not a curmudgeon all the time. Here are my top of OTPs (one true pairings) of all time:

Amy and Rory from Doctor WhoAmy Pond and Rory Williams

I don’t care if this is an unpopular opinion. The eleventh Doctor is my favorite, and Amy and Rory’s love story is my favorite. Never has a TV show made me feel so many ups-and-downs. Laughing and cheering one episode and sobbing the next. There were a couple of times I didn’t think they were going to make it. Amy was so preoccupied by adventure and Rory was so insecure. But then I saw The Angels Take Manhattan, and I ugly cried because it was an all too perfect ending for Amy and Rory.

Holly Marten and Douglas FargoDr. Holly Marten and Fargo

The best TV show you’ve never watched is called Eureka, and I talk about binge watching the series on Netflix from time to time on Books & Tea. It is my absolute favorite TV show because it balances nerdiness and science fiction and drama and comedy and romance. And it’s perfect. (In fact, I might watch an episode or two after I publish this post). It also has the best theme song. Check it out:

Okay, but this isn’t about my love for the show (not entirely). It’s about my love for my favorite Eureka power couple, Dr. Douglas Fargo (yes, I did name my cat after this character), an accident-prone junior scientist who later becomes head of GD in an alternate universe and Dr. Holly Martin (played by Felicia freaking Day), who is a socially awkward rocket scientist and assists on Eureka’s mission to Titan, one of Saturn’s moons. Dr. Parrish can suck it!

ron and hermioneRon and Hermione

I don’t care what J.K. Rowling said. And I don’t care that Harper Honey has really sound arguments regarding the Romine Controversy. Ron and Hermione was the first ship I ever cared about.

Tidus and Yuna from FFXTidus and Yuna

There are usually some great love stories in the Final Fantasy games. Cloud and Areith/Tifa/Yuffie or Rinoa and Squall or Selphie and Irvine. The sort of love stories that seem to cross time and space, kind of like Rory and Amy. Yuna and Tidus from Final Fantasy X is my favorite couple, even if they are a little star-crossed. I think that’s what makes it so much more emotional.

jackie and jonJon and Me!

As if I would think of ending this post any other way? A year ago, I never thought I would be where I am today. Even four months ago, when this picture was taken (don’t mind my crazy hair! It was windy), I never thought I would be where I am today. “Blessed” is not a word that is usually apart of my vocabulary, but that’s how I feel with Jon in my life. I get to wake up next to someone who still thinks I’m lovely with sleep in my eyes, and I get to share dinner with someone who thinks my cooking is delicious even though the steak is a little too salty. I feel like we’re constantly encouraging each other to be better people, too. Don’t get me wrong, we accept each others “flaws”, if that’s what you want to call them. But, he brings me out of of my shell and makes me feel less cold, more human.

Who are your OTPs?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

6 thoughts on “OTP: My Favorite Couples

  1. I hope those were apple cider donuts in that bag 🙂 The OTP that’s standing out for me is Jack and Rose, buy I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart for Titanic. Love this post!

    Like

  2. I think Ron can be a bit of a tool sometimes, but I really liked him with Hermione. So I’m just going to ignore everything that’s been said about Romione and keep shipping them, because they’re cute!
    Also, yes to Amy and Rory. They were definitely frustrating sometimes, but oh boy, their ending was so sad and amazing at the same time. Wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

