Home Sweet Home

homesweethomeThe Month of Love

I had specific plans for my blog this February. I was going to embrace the month of love and write reviews for contemporary, romancy sort of novels or discuss the reasons why I tend to avoid books under that category or in general just gush about the things in life that I love (it didn’t even have to be about books!)  And to some extent I followed through because I was bit by the blogging bug in January and scheduled some of the upcoming posts weeks in advance. But then, as usual I became distracted, so I’ll be flying by the seat of my pants for the rest of February. Oops! But, I have a very good reason for this distraction– I moved!

Home Sweet Home

If you follow me on twitter, you may have read that I was counting down days and getting distracted by the movie, My Neighbor Totoro, and the podcast, Serial, while I was supposed to be packing up my belongings. As of January 31, I call a new apartment home, and Jon and Fargo (the cat) and I think it’s a mighty swell place. Almost a week into it, the place is still in disarray because we’re still trying to find places to store our belongings, and we still need a piece or two of furniture, like closet organizers, to do this.

We had Saturday and Sunday to cozy up in our apartment, but that didn’t seem nearly long enough. Luckily, on Monday our city was placed under a State of Emergency because all of the snow that was dumped on us throughout Sunday, so work was closed! We had one extra day to loaf about. Mostly we played Marvel: Ultimate Alliance II and Skyrim.

Wishlist

Keeping with the theme of love, here are a couple of lovely novels that I’ve had my eye on:

Contemporary_romance_book_coversWandering Wild by Jessica Taylor ♥ Love, Fortunes, and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius ♥ Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Do you have a favorite contemporary/historical/fantasy/sci-fi novel that dwells on the topic of looooove? Tell me about it!

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

6 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Congratulations on the move! I’m glad to hear you had a moment to relax, moving can be so stressful. I’m not much of a romantic, though I really like the mushy romance between Chuck and Blair in Gossip Girl. As for books, the only romances I consistently enjoy are the paranormal ones by J.R. Ward. She writes the best damaged heroes.

    Love, Fortunes, and other Disasters has the cutest cover!

    Like

    1. I never read the Gossip Girl books, but I did watch (most of) the TV series. I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it, but holy moley, it is addictive! I was surprised how much I loved Chuck and Blair. I didn’t like them at first, but they really grew on me throughout the series.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on your new apartment. Lucky you had that extra day to organize everything. Wandering Wild and Love Fortunes and Other Disasters sound like great books. I hope you get them soon.

    Like

  3. I hope you settle into your new home soon and start to LOVE (see what I did there) it 😀

    I’ve heard of Everything, Everything before. I’m not sure whether I’ll like the romance aspect of it, but the premise sounds really intriguing, so I’ll probably give it a try!

    Like

    1. I totally see what you did there. Honestly, I already kind of LOVE my apartment even though it’s only been a week and I’m still trying to find a place for everything 😀

      Like

  4. Yay for moving! Well, not yay for the moving part exactly (since it stresses me out just thinking of packing up my house!) but yay for new digs! And oh gosh, I look for the romance in EVERYTHING I read. I’m disappointed if there’s not at least some kind of love story going on, no matter how small it is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

