Turkey Day 2014

Thanksgiving Feast

Thanksgiving 2014

Eating is one of my favorite hobbies, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. This year it was just my momma and I for dinner, but the boyfriend came over after for dessert and naps. Thanksgiving is an interesting beast; we spend hours (in my case, about seven) cooking the Thanksgiving feast, and we spend less than a half hour gobbling it all down (maybe 45 minutes if you’re having seconds). My mom tries to change the menu each year, but I’m a sucker for tradition. It’s not truly Thanksgiving without turkey, homemade mac & cheese, green beans & bacon, stuffing, corn souffle, deviled eggs, and a biscuit.

But Thanksgiving is not just about the feast. It’s about leftovers too. (What? Were you expecting me to say something sentimental?) Work provided me with a fifteen pound bird, which serves a large family and their neighbors. Since it’s just my mom and I, we were going to donate the turkey, but I decided to keep it and cook it myself at the last-minute. Now I have over 14 pounds of leftover turkey to deal with. At some point, we’ll run out of side dishes, which, let’s be honest, are the true stars of the feast (the Turkey is merely a vessel for cooking stuffing). What then? Open face turkey sammiches are the default, and we’re going out today to buy the gravy specifically for this post-holiday meal. Perhaps a hearty turkey pot pie? A bowl of Turkey Noodle Soup? Turkey Enchiladas even? I’m sure we have enough turkey for all of that and then some.

strawberries and cream sugar cake with meringue

Our desserts are a little less traditional. Last year, I made pots de creme with Adagio’s Tardis inspired tea. This year I made sugar cake topped with meringue and strawberries and cream. The flavor was on point– reminiscent of strawberry shortcake, but a little more decadent. However, it was my first time attempting to make meringue, and clearly that was a flop. I’m not discourage though! I tried to hand-whisk the meringue this time because I don’t have a fancy, standing mixer with whisk attachments. It was exhausting, so I won’t make the mistake of doing that again.

All joking aside, Thanksgiving is one of those holidays that encourage reflection on all the things we’re thankful for. My mom and I always say one thing we’re thankful for right before we dig in. This year, I was most thankful for my fresh start. But I am also thankful for:

  1. Family, friends, and Jon (the boyfriend)
  2. Continued employment and a patient and encouraging manager
  3. Books and books and books (especially the Harry Potter variety)
  4. Coffee and Tea, which keep me awake
  5. My cat, Fargo, who was thankful that we shared some turkey with him

Meow

What are you thankful for this year?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

One thought on “Turkey Day 2014

  1. Beautiful, beautiful post, Emily! I’ve always been interested in Thanksgiving, especially considering the fact that I’m not from the US. Seven hours for a feast must be tiring but definitely worth it, right? I’ve never had to think about what I’m thankful for (which is horrible and honestly should be something that I think about more often, you know) but I’m definitely thankful for the support all around me–family, friends and generosity and kindness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

