Happy Halloween!

closet-cosplay-ms-marvel-cBecoming Ms Marvel

About mid-way through last week, I received a text message from one of my very best friends from high school, inviting me to participate in Trunk or Treat. It’s been ages since we hung out, so I jumped at the opportunity. She told me our group would be dressing up as superheroes, so I spent the morning before the event creating a Ms Marvel costume. I’ve never been particularly crafty, so I was pleased with the finished product. The Trunk or Treat event was alright. It’s was actually overwhelming for an introvert like me. It was c-c-c-cold and snowy outside, so we were stuffed inside the gym with a lot of people. Later on in the night, I heard that over 1,000 people shuffled through.

Ms Marvel DIYThe materials were inexpensive, and you may even have most of them lying around anyway. The most challenging part of this project was creating the lightning bolt stencil, which I attempted to free-hand with the edge of books and a three-hole punch (because I haven’t owned a ruler since grade school). Next, I had to pluck up the courage to paint it onto my shirt– I had no idea if my lightning bolt was even, and I had no idea what the paint would look like applied to the shirt. I ended up buying two t-shirts just in case I ruined the first one, but luckily I did not need it!

It’s been a really long time since I created something with my hands, so I felt accomplished afterward. I also have some new additions to my wardrobe after this (yes mom, I plan to wear my glitter-bolt shirt in public.) I’ve also already started scoping out other characters because…this project was so much fun, and I kind of want to create more.

The Lunar Chronicles

scarlet by marissa meyer book coverWhile everyone is finishing up Cress by Marissa Meyer, I just snagged myself a copy of Scarlet. I absolutely adored Cinder, so I can’t really explain why it’s taken me so long to continue the series. Unfortunately, I’m not in the mood for this sci-fi retelling of fairy tales. Most of the books I’ve read recently have been dark or epic or heavy (figuratively AND literally). I think I’m in the mood for something light and fluffy– a feel good novel that will not take long at all to read. Any suggestions?

Books On My Radar

I’m drooling over these graphic novels featuring female main characters and written by female authors because girl power, amiright?!

Graphic Novel CoversThe Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, and Brooke Allen ♥ Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona ♥ The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

I hope you had a safe and fun Halloween. Did you dress up as anything this year?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. WE HAVE THE SAME MOOD RIGHT NOW. This is insane considering I’m a self confessed contemporary hater and fantasy lover. I never thought the day would come where I would crave a fluffy novel. I think I’m coming off the aftershock of emotions that my exam stress gave me so hopefully this sensation should die down soon because I’ve got some crazy dark fantasy and whatnots planned and I don’t want them to be affected by this mood. Recommendations however, I can give! Huntley Fitzpatrick–that’s who you want for this mood (unless you haven’t read Perkins, which, in that case, you should go for first). She does all those summer love story things (alright, she’s done two). They’re called, What I Thought Was True and My Life Next Door. Jenny Han is great for some fluff, I think, because I get recommended her all the time (but have yet to attempt because…I’m not the biggest contemp fan…) And Emery Lorde also wrote Open Road Summer which seems great!

    You’re costume is ace, by the way. Too bad aus isn’t too bothered with dressing up =_= My dream is to go as a pumpkin and I have no idea why.

    Like

  2. I can feel really accomplished to make soemthing your hands. I don’t craft a lot of thigns either, but I do enjoy it when I do. Your costume turned out really well! I never heard of Ms marvel before, but judging from that book cover, you really made the costume look like the real thing!

    I haven’t started the Lunar Chronicles yet, although I would like to.l

    I would like to recommend Anywhere by J Meyers, it tackles some serious issues, but manages to stay light. Or one of Karen Rock her books, she writes heartwarming romances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

