Teaview: Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos– as Cozy as it Sounds

Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos Tea
Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos Tea

Last month, I tried Teavana’s Pumpkin Spice Brulee Oolong Tea, and I was not impressed. This month, I tried Teavana’s Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos Tea, and I kind of love it. This tea has cinnamon, red rooibos, chicory root, plum pieces, apple slices, carob pieces, hibiscus flowers, artificial flavoring (I know, I know), and orange peels.  The Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos tea is a perfect after-dinner dessert tea when tummies are stuffed with hearty meals that are so common during the chilly and overcast weather that settles in this time of year. Especially in Michigan– I hear it’s supposed to start snowing at 3PM today!

The number one ingredient in this tea is cinnamon, and it certainly packs a punch. It’s unapologetically spicy, and that’s what I love most about this tea. If the physical temperature of the tea doesn’t warm you up, the cinnamon will melt the icicles right off of ya’. Although it is subtle, the next flavor to surface is apple, which is sweet with a slightly tart aftertaste. The Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos tea is already sweetened, so make sure you don’t add a single drop of honey or sugar to your cup. Compared to the Pumpkin Spice Brulee Oolong, which was too sweet for my taste, I do not feel overwhelmed by the sweetness in this tea. Perhaps the spice and the tartness balance this out. Admittedly, I’m not certain what’s lending to the sweetness. My mom seemed to think it was German Rock sugar, although I did not find that anywhere in the ingredients. Any ideas? As for the rooibos…well, I’ve not drank this type of tea enough to be able to comment on it. My experience with flavored Teavana teas though is that the rooibos is masked by all the other ingredients, but don’t let that discourage you from trying this out.

Overall, the Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos tea is aptly named. It’s spicy and sweet and tart, just like fresh apple cider from the mill. I would recommend this tea, which seems to warm the soul during these chilly months leading up to winter.

3 thoughts on “Teaview: Spiced Apple Cider Rooibos– as Cozy as it Sounds

  1. I have to try this. I don’t know where they sell Teavana around here but I’ll make the trip to find out. I sounds too god not to.
    So did you get the snow yet? I’m not sure if we’re going to dodge that bullet here or not. I’m ready for summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

