Threeview Teaview

Year of Stash Tea Sampler

I like to pride myself on being a savvy shopper. So when I received a $10 birthday coupon from Stash Tea in my inbox back in December, I couldn’t resist purchasing myself some tea. Ignoring the fact that I have a July birthday, I ended up snagging four different samplers (60 tea bags) for $11.40. That price includes shipping and handling, too. If you break it down to price per cup it’s a whopping .19 cents!

I didn’t actually purchase the sampler in the picture to the left. Even though 520 tea bags was tempting, I couldn’t justify spending close to $70 on myself a week before Christmas. I did however purchase the Decaf Sampler (10 bags), the Black Tea Sampler (30 bags), the Green Tea Sampler (10 bags), and the Herbal Tea Sampler (10 bags). Naturally, I’ve already done significant damage to the Black Tea Sampler on account of I’m a caffeine fiend; I’ve already drank half of my Earl Grey and half of my Irish Breakfast tea. They’re decent, but my quest for the best Earl Grey continues. I’ve been a little more patient and selective with the other samplers though. I usually have to do a grueling “Eenie Meenie Miney Moe” process before I can decide on a flavor to try. So far, I’ve only tried three, which I’ve reviewed below:

Cinnimon Apple Chamomile by Stash Tea

Stash Tea’s Cinnamon Apple Chamomile herbal tea was the first tea I tried from my stash (har har, see what I did there?). When I first started brewing this tea, it filled up the room with the most delicious apple cinnamon aroma. It reminded of the apple cinnamon oatmeal I used to eat in the mornings before going to school, so it was particularly comforting. The ingredients include: cinnamon, hibiscus, chamomile, and natural apple flavor, which all seem pretty tempting, but I thought the tea was pretty bland. I didn’t pick up the apple flavor, and I missed the spice of the cinnamon. I’ve never tried chamomile tea, so I can’t honestly say whether or not that flavor came through or not.  (Random fact: I feel like a fraud and unworthy of being called a tea drinker because I’ve NEVER had chamomile tea before).

Stash Tea Pumpkin Spice

I regret to say that I have similar things to say about Stash Tea’s Pumpkin Spice decaf tea as well. The aroma of this one was a little weird; half the time it smelled like Autumn in a cup, and half the time it had this strange old, alcohol scent that reminded me vaguely of my college days… Regardless, I’m glad I didn’t sip this during Autumn when I craved all things pumpkin flavored; it may have turned me off to pumpkin spiced tea forever. The ingredients include: naturally decaffeinated black tea, cinnamon, ginger root, clove, natural pumpkin flavor, natural nutmeg flavors. Even though black tea is the first ingredient, I didn’t catch the black tea flavor at all. Pumpkin Spice wasn’t completely bland though. It did live up to the second half of its name– Spice. This was a spicy, something-flavored beverage that left the most peculiar sensation on my tongue. I have no words for it (the sensation), really.

Stash Tea Goji Berry Green TeaI’m trying to implement a new morning routine– one that has me enjoying a nice caffeinated cup of tea in mornings before work so I’m not a complete zombie when I walk through the front doors. And when I say “new”, I mean I just decided to incorporate this into my routine this morning. Goji Berry Green Tea was the winner this morning. I started brewing before I bothered reading the ingredients because…well, do you really expect me to be coherent at 6:45? Next thing I know, I’m staring at a mug filled with fuchsia colored liquid, and I’m kind of panicking because I know I don’t want anything fuchsia colored before Noon. Then I read the ingredients: green tea, hibiscus, organic rooibos, rosehips, goji flavor, raspberry leaf, strawberry flavor, matcha, licorice powder, citric acid, and I was prepared to hate it. Color me surprised though, Stash Tea’s Goji Berry Green Tea was actually pretty great. For me, the predominant flavor was strawberry…well, “strawberry”. It tasted similar to strawberry hard candy. There was also a nice sweet aftertaste. I caught it right on the back of the tongue, so it wasn’t overpowering. I wonder if it had anything to do with the licorice powder…

Bottom line, I was disappointed by the Cinnamon Apple Chamomile tea and the Pumpkin Spice tea, but the interesting flavor combination of the Goji Berry Green Tea had me craving more. Lots more. Seriously, I can’t stop thinking about it. Goji Berry Green Tea, you vile temptress.

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

Leave a Reply

