Bite Sized Book Reports

I read these two books back in 2012, but I never got around to writing a review for them. Now, so much time has passed that anything I could come up with wouldn’t do the books justice. I did want to highlight these books though because I think they are still worth sharing.

Cinder by Marissa MeyerCinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer
Released: January 2012
Publisher: Feiwell and Friends
★★★★☆
Won from a giveaway hosted by Fiktshun.
Goodreads

My Thoughts
Most of the books I purchase end up donated to the library after I’ve read them. But, I do have a selection of books that I’ve held on to for my hypothetical, future children. Cinder by Marissa Meyer is now a part of that selection. It is such an imaginative fairy tale re-telling. I mean, Cinderella is a cyborg. What’s not to like? Plus, the world and characters Meyer creates are rich and vivid. Cinder is the type of book that makes me truly excited to read, which seems more and more like a feat these days. If you’ve not already read the book, go out and buy it now, and read it as soon as you get home. Better yet, see if your mom/dad/sibling/significant other/neighbor/pastor will give you a ride to the store so you can start reading it during the ride home.

The next book in the series, is Scarlet, and the book introduces us to another fairytale inspired character. With a name like Scarlet, I bet you can guess who it is. Needless to say, I’m very excited for the new release, and I want it to be in my possession. Like now, please.

 

The MockingbirdsThe Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Released: November 2010
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
★★★☆☆
Goodreads

My Thoughts
I think I didn’t write a review for The Mockingbirds because I couldn’t find the right words for it. The Mockingbirds deals with rape and sexual assault, and it made me feel discomfort in a way that Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson and Just Listen by Sarah Dessen did not. Not that the book was distasteful– it just seemed all so real the way protagonist Alex Patrick re-lived that night and the way she avoided confronting people following the attack. And what makes matters worse, her attacker’s “boys will be boys” attitude just makes me taste bile.

I only have two concerns with the Mockingbirds. First is Whitney’s execution. I felt like some aspects were redundant. The author seemed to explain how the Mockingbirds worked and the purpose of the vigilante group frequently, like it was a concern that the reader would forget from two chapter prior. I’m also a little weary of the resolution. SPOILER ALERT! I appreciate the idea behind the Mockingbirds, especially since the school’s faculty seems to turn the other cheek to the horrific incidents described in the book. But, I felt like the punishment delivered was the equivalent to a slap on the wrist. Yet Alex was okay with it. It made me angry because I didn’t feel like any justice had been served.

I know the story of the Mockingbirds continues, but I don’t know if I will read on or not. I’m not sure how it could possibly measure up to book one. Then again, maybe Alex will realize she didn’t get the justice she deserved, and maybe she’ll seek out a better resolution. Like with actual legal implications.

2 thoughts on “Bite Sized Book Reports

Leave a Reply

