Revisiting the Magic of Harry Potter

It’s that time of the year again. I’m having cravings for pumpkin pasties, cauldron cakes, and licorice wands! So, I pulled my dusty copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone off of my book shelf and dived in. (Note: The book was dusty because I’m really bad about dusting surfaces, not because I haven’t read it in ages.)

Harry Potter, the boy who lived
via weheartit

Cracking open a Harry Potter book is like visiting with old friends. For a moment I stare down at the book and think to myself, “Gosh, it’s been a while,” and “My, how times have changed”. And then when I start reading, it’s like I’m reliving all of these fantastic antics from yesteryear for the first time. When I’m finished, I place the books back on my shelf, sad that it’s ended. Like the time spent together was too short. But then I remind myself I’ll see them again in a year or so.

I do this every year, re-read Harry Potter. It’s a tradition I’m not keen on breaking any time soon. This year, I thought I’d do something a little different though. I’d like to incorporate my journey through the seven books in my blog. I’ll be honest, I only have a rough idea of what I’d like to accomplish with this– reviews or maybe thoughts on characters, places, and magical beasts. Maybe I’ll actually get around to trying out the different recipes for Butterbeer. The sky is the limit when you have a Nimbus 2001 a Firebolt.

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

7 thoughts on “Revisiting the Magic of Harry Potter

    1. I’ve known a few people who do this with the Lord of the Rings! I sadly, could not get through the books. But, I’ve been thinking of giving them another go. I’ve even taken them off the shelf, which shows that I mean business.

      Like

Leave a Reply

