In Which I am Determined to Finish a Series Other than Harry Potter

The Fellowship of the Ring

I’m notorious for starting book series but never finishing them.  I think the problem is, I read the first few books of the series with fervor but then lose gusto after a while.  Spending upwards of a month with the same characters, the same worlds, the same story is, for me, tiring.  I’ll eventually put the series on hold and move on to something else.  Unfortunately, this also means that I, on occasion, forget about them.  But then, I’ll come across a blog post, or the series will surface in conversations with friends, and I’ll remember how much I enjoyed those books and how I need to add them to my To-Read list.  Here is a list of series I’ve started, never got around to finishing, but mean to in the future.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

A series of unfortunate events
I started reading this series my freshman year of college.  I read as far as the Ersatz Elevator before I put the series down.  The series is repetitive, that is, each book seemed to follow a formula which, as anyone can imagine, can be boring.  But, I enjoyed the characters, the awful situations, and of course the writing so much that I’d like to pick up where I left off.

The story follows the three Baudelaire children after the death of their parents in a house fire.  The children are placed under the custody of distant cousin, Count Olaf, who means only to acquire the great fortune left for the children.  After the children escape Count Olaf, they move around from home to home only to find Count Olaf has discovered them and intends to ruin their happiness. It’s very grim, you see.

Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer

artemis fowl books

I only read as far as the Arctic Incident which I believe is only the second book in the series.  I try to read one of the books each summer, although last year, I didn’t.  Most of my books are packed up, sitting in my parent’s basement and when faced with what books to buy with my birthday money, I couldn’t remember if I already owned the Eternity Code!  (I don’t, I found out later).

Artemis Fowl is a teen-aged criminal mastermind, whose goal is to acquire money through illegal schemes.  It’s business as usual until he crosses the beings of the Lower Elements, a realm of fairies and other non-humans.  This begins both an un-trusting yet symbiotic relationship between Fowl and the LEPrecon task force.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

the lord of the rings books

Once The Lord of the Rings movies hit the theaters I was obsessed.  I couldn’t get enough of em’, so at the age of 13, I eagerly began reading the trilogy.  Only, I didn’t have the patience at that age to appreciate something like the Lord of the Rings.  I got all the way to the third chapter of the third book when I put it down.  I’ve not picked it up since in almost 10 years, but I’ve been planning to revisit the series.

Geez, where to even begin?  Sauron, with a new physical form, has returned to Mordor, his old realm.  He needs the One Ring in order to regain all of his power.  He sends forth his dark servants, the Ringwraiths, to seize the ring.  After Frodo and Bilbo Baggins learn the history of the ring from Gandalf the Grey, Frodo is encouraged to take the ring away from the Shire.  Along the way, the Ringwraiths pursue Frodo and his hobbit companions who receive aid and protection from both Tom Bombadil and Aragorn.  When the company arrives in Rivendell, they learn the threat of Sauron is too great, and the ring must be destroyed.

Twlight saga by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight books
I…I…I can’t believe I’m actually admitting this to someone other than my mom, but iliketwilight.  The writing is bad (how many times will Bella say she’s “irrevocably in love” and compare Edward to Adonis?), Bella is hardly the butt-kicking heroine that I much prefer, and Edward is possessive and otherwise a waste of space, but I can’t recall a time where I was so invested in a book that I actually completely tuned out the television or video games. I read the first two books about a year ago, and I just received the last two books of the saga for Christmas. I’ll be getting to them soon.

I’m not even going to bother writing a synopsis. I know you’ve all heard about it.

The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

spiderwick chronicles by holly blackI picked up the first book of the series at my university library.  I had some time to kill, and I didn’t want to walk all the way back to my apartment. I also didn’t want to get so into a book that I would end up weighing the pros and cons of skipping class just to read the book, so I picked the shortest one I could find–enter The Spiderwick Chronicles with its fantastic story and interesting illustrations.

The Grace family has just moved to the Spiderwick estates, and none are too thrilled about that. Things start looking up when they find a secret den of their great-great uncle, Arthur Spiderwick. Once they begin to read from his field guide, bizarre things start to happen; they can see creatures they thought never existed, and they have to defend the secrets of the field guide from the evil Mulgrath.

That’s about it for me. I try to avoid series if possible for this very unfortunate habit of failing to finish them. Are there any series that you’ve put down but have been meaning to resume reading?

Posted by

Twenty-something. Michigander. Bookkeeper by day, superhero and blogger by night. Some of my favorite things include: travel, the Japanese language, photography, video games, sweater-weather, and of course books and tea. The Harry Potter books are my favorite, and I can never have too much peppermint tea.

4 thoughts on “In Which I am Determined to Finish a Series Other than Harry Potter

  1. You’ve made me realize that I’m kind of in the same boat! I’ve finished quite a few trilogies (Lord of the Rings, Abhorsen, His Dark Materials, Mortal Instruments), but I’m pretty sure Harry Potter is the only series I ever finished. >_>

    I remember obsessively reading Animorphs when I was younger, but stopped when it started feeling drawn out. I only read the first two Artemis Fowl and Twilight books too! Maybe I have a preference towards epic fantasy, since all the examples I gave above fall under that? Hmm.

    Either way, it’s probably time to finish something!

    Like

  2. I’ve had the same problem. Heck I’ve only read book one of HP. 😦

    To accomplish this goal, I had to turn to PNR adult series. The books seem less taxing somehow.

    And to be fair, a lot of fictional men are compared to Adonis. And I mean a lot.

    Good luck, Jackie. 😀

    Like

  3. I love series and it is unusual for me not to finish one. there is even one fantasy series I’ve stuck with since the 80s– the author is elderly but still crankng out books every couple of years.

    I had considered not finishing Artemis Fowl– there are so many other books to read and I barely remember what happened in the Fowls I read.

    I’m not a Twi fangirl but I devoured all four one after the other— despite the annoying bits, it is a good story.

    I really liked Spiderwick– very quick reads.

    You must read LoTR– I loved it at 14 but I did skip bits. Reading it at 19 and beyond was totally different. I see different things in it every time I read it.

    Not what you want to hear but you must check out this series: Fablehaven by Brandon Mull it is about a secret preserve for mythical/fairy tale creatures and of course the fate of the world is at stake.

    Get Cracking!!

    ;o)

    Like

  4. Finding a series as enjoyable as HP has been a serious challenge. I suffered the same fate and was sucked in (ha?) by the Twilight books, mediocre writing and all (if she used the word “infinitesimally” one more time…pow!) but haven’t been able to get into another series since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

