FF: How Many Books Do You Read At a Time?

Do you read one book at a time, or do you switch back and forth between two or more?

I am guilty of reading multiple books at once. I usually switch between three different books at any given time. The idea behind this is I have a specific book to read at a  specific place or time. For example, when I’m at home and about to crawl into bed, I usually read something on my Nook. When I’m at work I usually read one of my books that has a “neutral” cover. As opposed to when I’m at home and sitting by the lake while my boyfriend is fishing, I’ll read a book that has a super girly cover/kissy-face cover (you know the sort, I’m sure).

It may seem like I have book ADD, but despite all the book-switching I actually retain everything that I read. Then again, I’ve been a notorious book flip-flopper for years, so I’ve had a lot of practice. The worst thing about being a book flip-flopper is it takes me a while to finish up a book.

Right now I am reading:

Twilight: Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer – This is my “down by the lake” book.
The Demon King (Seven Realms series) by Cinda Williams Chima – This is my “lunch time at work” book
A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson – This is a book that I apparently can only read on plane rides where I have zero distraction, which explains why it’s taking me so long to finish the book.
As for my bedtime book, I haven’t settled on what I want to read yet. I keep starting books, get through the first three pages, and decide I’m just not in the mood for that genre of book.

To make matters worse, I have Cinder by Marissa Meyer sitting on my bedside table. I so badly want to read it, but I’m trying to read responsibly. I don’t want to read too many books at once because then things will really get out of hand!

Follow Friday is a meme hosted by Rachel at Parajunkee’s View!

One thought on “FF: How Many Books Do You Read At a Time?

  1. Sounds just like me! At least me for the last 5 years or so. Before that, I typically read one book at a time back to back nonstop voraciously. Now it is common for me to have 3 or more going at a time– a bed book, a car book, a readaloud to my child book, a reread book ect ect. I think it is because my life is busier now so I’m trying to fit in more books but actually I don’t seem to read as many books as I used to. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

