Waiting on Wednesday: The List

From Goodreads:
It happens every year. A list is posted, and one girl from each grade is chosen as the prettiest, and another is chosen as the ugliest. Nobody knows who makes the list. It almost doesn’t matter. The damage is done the minute it goes up.

This is the story of eight girls, freshman to senior, “pretty” and “ugly.” And it’s also the story of how we see ourselves, and how other people see us, and the tangled connection of the two.

I’m going to admit something here– I’ve not actually read a book by Siobhan Vivian even though she seems really popular amongst book bloggers. I will say, The List is the second book of hers that has really piqued my interest (The first being Not That Kind of Girl, and I don’t have any excuses for why I haven’t read it yet). The story itself seems like it’s going to be rather profound even though it dwells on something as superficial as appearance, and I think the story will resonate with many young women. I’m making an assumption based off the synopsis because I haven’t read anything about this book, but I get the feeling each girl affected by the list will have a chance to tell their own story. I’m a sucker for multiple points of view, so this is another reason why I’m eagerly awaiting this book.

The List by Siobhan Vivian
Expected Publication: April 1, 2012
Publisher: Push

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine.

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: The List

Leave a Reply

